纈草:天然草本助眠劑? 科學研究與推薦

Sleep

EN ES Fil FR KO VI

纈草,學名 Valeriana officinalis,是一種具有豐富歷史的傳統草藥。 多年來,它被廣泛用於幫助緩解失眠、焦慮和神經性不安的症狀。 據說它的作用溫和而有效,是許多尋求自然療法者的最愛。

什麼是纈草?

纈草(Valeriana officinalis)是纈草科的草藥。 它原產於歐洲和亞洲,但在北美也有它們的芳蹤。 雖然纈草屬有 250 多種,但 Valeriana officinalis 是美國和歐洲最常使用的種類。

纈草花 | 圖像:Pixabay

纈草通常在花園中種植用於觀賞,但它也在潮濕的草地上野生生長。 它擁有筆直的中空莖,頂部有傘狀簇。 它的深綠色葉子有鋒利的尖端,下面有絨毛。 這種植物在六月開花,開出白色、淡紫色或粉紅色的小花,氣味芳香。

纈草根 | 圖像:Pixabay

纈草植物的根呈淺灰棕色,新鮮時幾乎無味。 然而,乾燥後,它會散發出強烈的氣味,像放置太久的濕抹布,有些人說像未洗的臭襪子… 真是很有特色的味道啊!XD

為了掩蓋其” 香氣”,纈草經常與其他鎮靜藥草混合使用,如西番蓮 (Passiflora incarnata) 、啤酒花 (Humulus lupulus) 、香蜂草 (Melissa officinalis) 、黃芩 (Scutellaria Lateriflora) 和胡椒 ( Piper methysticum) 。

非處方品中銷售的纈草補充劑來自其根、根莖(地下莖)和匍匐莖。 乾燥的根可以沖泡成茶或酊劑,而乾燥的粉末和萃取物則可以放入膠囊或壓製成片劑。

纈草的使用與作用機制

自古希臘和古羅馬時代起,纈草就被用作藥草。 從歷史上看,它被用來治療失眠、偏頭痛、疲勞和胃痙攣等疾病。

在第二次世界大戰期間,英國人用它來緩解空襲的壓力。 如今,纈草被宣傳為治療一系列問題的藥物,包括失眠、焦慮、抑鬱、經前症候群 (PMS) 、更年期症狀、頭痛、癲癇發作和注意力缺陷過動症 (ADHD) 。 然而,沒有足夠的科學證據支持纈草可以治療這些疾病。

二戰期間倫敦空襲後
(圖:帝國戰爭博物館/維基媒體

纈草的確切作用機制對科學家來說仍然是個謎。 然而,人們普遍認為它會增加大腦中一種稱為γ-氨基丁酸(GABA)的神經傳導物質的數量。

GABA 具有調節神經細胞的作用,特別是對於焦慮症具有鎮靜作用。 Xanax(阿普唑侖)和 Valium(地西泮)等藥物也可以透過提高大腦中的 GABA 水平來發揮作用。 研究人員推測,纈草可能會產生類似的鎮靜作用,只是效果較為溫和。

纈草與睡眠障礙的研究

纈草以其改善睡眠障礙的潛力而為大眾所熟知,促使科學家就此主題進行了大量的臨床研究。

在科學文獻的系統性回顧中,確定並評估了九項關於纈草和睡眠障礙的隨機、安慰劑對照、雙盲臨床試驗,以確定其治療失眠的有效性。 雖然所有九項試驗都有其局限性,但其中三項試驗取得了最高分,每項試驗都獲得了 5 分(滿分 5 分)。

在第一項研究中,128 名志願者分別服用了 400 毫克纈草水萃取物、含有 60 毫克纈草和 30 毫克啤酒花的商業製劑及安慰劑。 結果表明,與安慰劑相比,纈草萃取物在入睡時間、睡眠品質和夜間醒來次數方面顯示出統計上顯著的主觀改善。

然而,由於參與者沒有被要求患有失眠症,因此研究的結果無法最終確定使用纈草治療失眠的臨床意義。 此外,研究參與者的退出率為 22.9%,這可能影響了研究結果。

Sleepless
圖片:Cottonbro Studio

在第二項研究中,對八名輕度失眠(通常入睡困難)的個體進行了評估,以了解纈草對睡眠潛伏期的影響。 450 毫克劑量的纈草萃取物將平均入睡時間從約 16 分鐘縮短至 9 分鐘,這與用作鎮靜劑或安定劑的處方苯二氮平類藥物的作用相似。 900 毫克劑量的纈草雖然改善了睡眠,但讓參與者第二天早上感覺更睏。

雖然具有統計意義,但睡眠潛伏期縮短 7 分鐘和主觀睡眠評分的改善可能沒有臨床意義。 樣本量小也使得將結果推廣到更廣泛的人群變得具有挑戰性。

第三項研究探討了對 121 名有非器質性失眠記錄的個體的長期影響。 28 天后,與安慰劑組相比,服用 600 毫克纈草萃取物的組別的失眠症狀有所減輕。 在第 14 天和第 28 天的評估之間,纈草和安慰劑之間的改善差異擴大。

然而,其他一些研究結果則不太樂觀。 解讀這些研究的困難源於它們的樣本量小、使用不同數量和來源的纈草、測量不同的結果,或者沒有考慮由於高退出率而導致的偏差。 整體而言,這些試驗對纈草的改善睡眠的功效尚無定論。

此外,兩項小規模研究顯示纈草可能有助於緩解更年期症狀,但證據不足以得出結論。 也沒有足夠的數據來明確說明纈草是否有助於緩解焦慮、憂鬱、經前症候群、月經來潮、壓力或其他疾病。

纈草的副作用

大多數人在以建議劑量服用纈草時不會出現不良反應。 最常見的副作用包括頭痛、頭暈、胃部不適和嗜睡。 鑑於其可能導致困倦,建議避免食用後駕駛或操作重型機械。

不建議孕婦或哺乳期婦女以及三歲以下兒童服用纈草,因為尚未評估對胎兒、嬰兒或兒童的潛在風險。

纈草可能會增強其他藥物的作用。 當與其他助眠劑(如酒精、苯二氮平類藥物、巴比妥類藥物或中樞神經系統抑制劑)合併使用時,治療效果可能會增強,但副作用也可能加劇。 纈草也可能與其他膳食補充劑(如聖約翰草、卡瓦胡椒和褪黑激素)相互作用。

纈草補充劑服用須知

在決定服用纈草補充劑治療失眠之前,需要考慮以下事項:

  1. 藥物可能不是您最好的選擇:先從調整您的睡眠習慣開始。 晚上避免攝取咖啡因,保持規律的睡眠時間,進行日常鍛煉,並在睡前放鬆一兩個小時。 認知行為療法可能比藥物或草藥補充劑更有效、更安全地解決失眠問題。 例如,用正面的想法取代對失眠的擔憂。 或者,可能存在嚴重的潛在問題,例如睡眠呼吸中止症或不寧腿綜合症,需要去看醫生。
  2. 警惕誤導性的產品聲明:不要依賴產品炒作或行銷。 尋找可靠的、有科學依據的信息,例如來自美國國立衛生研究院下屬的國家補充和綜合健康中心 (NCCIH) 或膳食補充劑辦公室 (ODS) 的資源。
  3. 劑量不明確:研究顯示纈草在連續服用兩週或更長時間後顯得最有效。 然而,由於研究中使用的量不同,而且有些研究不夠嚴格,理想的劑量仍不清楚。 大多數纈草根補充劑每份含有約 300-600 毫克,但有些產品可能含有 1000 毫克甚至更高劑量。
  4. 潛在副作用及安全性:雖然一般認為是安全的,但纈草可能會導致頭痛、頭暈、胃腸道問題或失眠。 如果您懷孕或哺乳,可能不安全。 尚未評估其對於三歲以下兒童的安全性。 如果您患有肝臟疾病,請避免服用纈草,因為許多藥物依賴肝臟分解,而纈草可能會減慢這一過程。
  5. 可能的藥物交互作用:纈草可能會增強其他助眠劑的效果。 它還會增強酒精、苯二氮平類藥物和麻醉劑等抑制劑的鎮靜作用。 纈草可能會干擾某些處方藥,並可能與聖約翰草等其他膳食補充劑相互作用。
  6. 草藥補充劑不受 FDA 監管:您無法確定您得到的是什麼或它是否安全。 含有纈草的補充劑其內容可能不一致,並且可能含有其他成分。 請記住,天然的並不一定意味著它是安全的。
  7. 諮詢您的醫生:如果您正在考慮服用纈草,請先與您的醫生討論,確保它不會干擾您正在服用的任何其他藥物或補充劑,並根據您的健康或醫療狀況確定其安全性。

8 種纈草補充劑推薦

Gaia Herbs 纈草根膠囊

Gaia Herbs 提供的纈草根補充劑可幫助放鬆,尤其是在壓力較大的時期。 如果您正在尋求一夜安寧的睡眠,這種補充劑可以幫助您安然入睡。 它採用優質有機纈草根製成,旨在確保您醒來時感覺神清氣爽。

Gaia Herbs Valerian Root - Natural Sleep Support for a Natural Calm to Help Relaxation to Prepare for Sleep - with Organic Valerian Root...
247 Reviews
Also at Gaia Herbs
Gaia Herbs 纈草根 60 粒純素液體植物膠囊

它經過純度測試,純素食,不含麩質,在美國北卡羅來納州製造。 自 1987 年以來,Gaia Herbs 一直致力於透過整體福祉方法將人類、植物和地球聯繫起來,創造療癒效果。

Herb Pharm 認證的有機纈草根液體精華

Herb Pharm 經認證的有機纈草根液體萃取物精華,旨在促進放鬆和深度睡眠,幫助您一夜安眠。 這種易於吸收的配方增強了草藥的功效,同時愉悅您的味覺和嗅覺。

Herb Pharm Valerian Extract 4 oz Liquid
Also at iHerb
Herb Pharm 認證的有機纈草根液體精華

源自有機認證纈草植物的新鮮根莖和根,其真實性透過嚴格的 HPTLC 指紋識別和專家草藥鑑定得到驗證。 這款纈草根液體萃取物優先考慮純度,是純素食、非基因改造且不含麩質。

Herbal Secrets 纈草根膠囊

體驗 Herbal Secrets 纈草根補充劑的好處,每份提供 500 毫克的纈草根強效成分。 每瓶裝有 120 粒易於服用的素食膠囊。 該補充劑注重質量,非基因改造、無麩質,並經過第三方測試。 符合 GMP 標準製造,確保一流的品質。

Herbal Secrets Valerian Root 500mg 120 Veggie Capsules Supplement | Non-GMO | Gluten Free | Made in USA
917 Reviews
Also at iHerb
Herbal Secrets 纈草根 500 毫克 120 粒

Herbal Secrets 在美國製造,保證其纈草根補充劑的最高純度和效力。

Nature’s Answer 無酒精纈草根液體精華

Nature’s Answer 推出不含酒精的濃縮纈草根液萃取物,每份具有 1,000 毫克乾燥植物的益處。 該產品採用酒精、水和天然萃取劑精心配製,保持了萃取物的整體平衡。

Nature's Answer Alcohol-Free Valerian Root, 2-Fluid Ounces
Also at iHerb
Nature’s Answer 無酒精纈草根液體精華,1,000 毫克

產品採用生物螯合冷萃取製程消除酒精和萃取物質,形成專為平靜和放鬆而設計的超濃縮配方。 Nature’s Answer 使用先進的植物指紋技術進行認證,確保每瓶液體精華都具有最高的純度和品質。

Nature’s Sunshine 纈草根膠囊

Nature’s Sunshine 推出的纈草根補充劑,其中添加了以鎮靜作用聞名的標準化纈草酸。 每粒膠囊含有 410 毫克的強效纈草根,因其無成癮的性質而受到讚賞,確保使用者早上起床時不會感到困倦。

Nature's Sunshine Valerian Root, 100 Capsules | Herbal Supplement Promotes Relaxation, Supports Sleep, and Delivers Natural Nervous System...
Also at Nature’s Sunshine
Nature’s Sunshine 纈草根膠囊,100 粒

纈草根不僅有助於放鬆中樞神經系統、減輕壓力,促進成人安寧的睡眠,也支持健康的神經系統,使您保持平靜。

NOW Foods 纈草根素食膠囊

NOW Foods 推出 500 毫克純素纈草根膠囊,品質卓越,通過非基因改造、不含大豆、純素食等認證。建議需要時在睡前服用 2 粒。

NOW Supplements, Valerian Root (Valeriana officinalis) 500 mg, Herbal Supplement, 250 Veg Capsules
Also at iHerb
NOW Foods 纈草根素食膠囊 500 毫克 250 粒

該產品獲得 NPA A 級 GMP 認證,保證了從實驗室測試到最終配方的頂級製造流程。 NOW Foods 在美國製造,自 1968 年以來一直是一家可靠的家族企業。

Swanson 纈草根膠囊

50 多年來,Swanson 一直是值得信賴的健康產品供應商。 產品在經過 GMP 認證的設施中生產並由獨立實驗室驗證,確保每種補充劑的品質、純度及強度。

Swanson Valerian Root - Herbal Supplement - Relaxation and Sleep - 100 Capsules, 950mg per Serving
261 Reviews
Also at iHerb
Swanson 纈草根膠囊 950 毫克 / 475 毫克

Swanson 的纈草根補充劑每粒膠囊提供 950 毫克的有效成分,只需在睡前一小時服用一到兩粒膠囊即可。

Nature’s Way 纈草根純素膠囊

Nature’s Way 致力於從最好的地區採購植物原料,確保每件產品的頂級品質。 他們的纈草根補充劑經過非基因改造項目驗證,體現了他們對品質的承諾。

Nature's Way Valerian Root - Traditional Sleep Support* - Valerian Root Capsules - Gluten Free & Vegan - 100 Capsules
1,758 Reviews
Nature’s Way 纈草根純素膠囊 100 粒

產品為無麩質純素配方,不含鹽、酵母、玉米、小麥、大豆、乳製品和人工添加物。 Nature’s Way 堅信自然的健康藍圖,平衡古老的傳統與現代的健康需求,始終如一地提供自然健康、值得信賴的產品。

可靠來源 美國國家補充與整合醫學中心 打開連結 →

Fan Zhao

熱愛烘培、節儉省錢的聰明家庭主婦。

Disclosure: We are an Amazon Associate. Some links on this website are affiliate links, which means we may earn a commission or receive a referral fee when you sign up or make a purchase through those links.

相關文章

未找到你想要的信息?
請嘗試我們強大的搜尋工具!

留言

發表迴響

Stock images sponsored by depositphotos.com

Valerian: A Natural Herbal Sleep Aid? Unpacking the Research and Claims

ES Fil FR KO VI

Valerian, scientifically known as Valeriana officinalis, is a traditional herbal remedy with a rich history. For ages, it’s been widely used to help alleviate symptoms of insomnia, anxiety, and nervous restlessness. Its effects are known to be gentle yet effective, making it a favorite for many seeking natural treatments.

What is Valerian?

Valerian (Valeriana officinalis) is a herbal remedy that belongs to the Valerianaceae family. It’s native to Europe and Asia but is also naturally found in North America. While the Valerian genus comprises over 250 species, Valeriana officinalis is the most commonly used in the U.S. and Europe.

Valerian flowers | Image: Pixabay

Valerian is often cultivated for ornamental purposes in gardens, but it also thrives wild in damp meadows. It boasts a straight, hollow stem topped with umbrella-like clusters. Its deep green leaves have sharp tips and are fuzzy underneath. The plant flowers in June, producing small, sweet-smelling blooms in shades of white, pale purple, or pink.

Valerian root | Image: Pixabay

The root of the Valerian plant is a light gray-brown and is virtually odorless when fresh. However, when dried, it gives off a strong scent, reminiscent of a damp rag that’s been left out for too long or, as some say, like a stinky unwashed sock. It’s quite the distinctive smell!

To mask its aroma, Valerian is often combined with other calming herbs such as Passionflower (Passiflora incarnata), Hops (Humulus lupulus), Lemon Balm (Melissa officinalis), Skullcap (Scutellaria lateriflora), and Kava (Piper methysticum).

Valerian supplements sold over-the-counter are derived from its roots, rhizomes (underground stems), and stolons. The dried roots can be brewed into teas or tinctures, while the dried powders and extracts are encapsulated or pressed into tablets.

Health benefits of Valerian

Since the times of ancient Greece and Rome, valerian has been employed as a medicinal herb. Historically, it was used to address ailments like insomnia, migraines, fatigue, and stomach cramps.

During World War II, the British turned to it for relief from the stress of air raids. Today, valerian is promoted as a remedy for a range of issues, including insomnia, anxiety, depression, premenstrual syndrome (PMS), menopausal symptoms, headaches, epileptic seizures, and attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD). However, there’s insufficient scientific evidence to support its use for these conditions.

Post-air raid London during WWII
(Image: Imperial War Museum / Wikimedia

The precise mechanism of how valerian works remains a bit of a mystery to scientists. However, it’s widely believed that it increases the amount of a neurotransmitter called gamma-aminobutyric acid (GABA) in the brain.

GABA plays a role in regulating nerve cells and has calming effects, particularly on anxiety. Medications like Xanax (alprazolam) and Valium (diazepam) also function by enhancing GABA levels in the brain. Researchers theorize that valerian may produce similar calming effects, albeit milder.

Researches on Valerian and sleep disorders

Valerian is best known to the general public for its potential in improving sleep disturbances, leading scientists to conduct numerous clinical studies on the subject.

In a systematic review of scientific literature, nine randomized, placebo-controlled, double-blind clinical trials on valerian and sleep disorders were identified and evaluated to determine its effectiveness in treating insomnia. While all nine trials had their limitations, three of them achieved top scores, each receiving a 5 out of 5.

In the first study, 128 volunteers were administered either a 400mg valerian water extract, a commercial preparation containing 60mg valerian and 30mg hops, or a placebo. Results suggested that compared to the placebo, the valerian extract showed statistically significant subjective improvements in the time it took to fall asleep, sleep quality, and the number of nighttime awakenings.

However, since participants weren’t required to have insomnia, the study’s results can’t conclusively determine the clinical significance of using valerian to treat insomnia. Additionally, the study had a dropout rate of 22.9%, which may have influenced the findings.

Sleepless
Image: Cottonbro Studio

In the second study, eight individuals with mild insomnia (typically having difficulty falling asleep) were evaluated to discern the effects of valerian on sleep latency. A 450mg dose of valerian extract reduced the average time taken to fall asleep from about 16 minutes to 9 minutes, mimicking the action of prescription benzodiazepines, which are used as sedatives or tranquilizers. A 900mg dose of valerian, though increasing the sleep benefits, left participants feeling more drowsy the next morning.

While statistically significant, this reduction of 7 minutes in sleep latency and the improvement in subjective sleep scores might not be clinically relevant. The small sample size also makes it challenging to generalize the results to a broader population.

The third study explored the long-term effects on 121 individuals with documented non-organic insomnia. After 28 days, the group given a 600mg dose of valerian extract displayed reduced symptoms of insomnia compared to the placebo group. The improvement difference between valerian and the placebo widened between the 14th and 28th-day assessments.

However, some other studies didn’t paint as rosy a picture. The difficulty in deciphering these studies stems from their small sample sizes, the use of different quantities and sources of valerian, measuring different outcomes, or not accounting for biases due to high dropout rates. Overall, these trials present an inconclusive picture of valerian’s sleep-inducing efficacy.

Additionally, two small-scale studies suggest that valerian might offer relief from menopausal symptoms, but the evidence isn’t substantial enough to conclude. There’s also insufficient data to definitively state whether valerian aids in addressing anxiety, depression, PMS, menstrual cramps, stress, or other ailments.

Side effects of Valerian

Most folks experience no adverse reactions when taking valerian at recommended dosages. The most common side effects include headaches, dizziness, upset stomach, and drowsiness. Given its potential to cause sleepiness, it’s advisable to avoid driving or operating heavy machinery after consumption.

Valerian isn’t recommended for pregnant or nursing women and children under the age of three, as potential risks to fetuses, infants, or children haven’t been assessed.

Valerian may amplify the effects of other medications. When combined with other sleep aids, such as alcohol, benzodiazepines, barbiturates, or central nervous system depressants, the therapeutic outcomes might be enhanced, but side effects can also compound. Valerian might also interact with other dietary supplements like St. John’s Wort, Kava, and melatonin.

Things to know before taking Valerian supplements

Before you decide to take valerian supplements for insomnia, here are some things to consider:

  1. Medication might not be your best option: Start by adjusting your sleep habits first. Avoid caffeine in the evening, maintain a regular sleep schedule, engage in routine exercise, and relax an hour or two before bedtime. Cognitive-behavioral therapy may address insomnia more effectively and safely than drugs or herbal supplements. For instance, replace worries about insomnia with positive thoughts. Or, there might be significant underlying issues, like sleep apnea or restless leg syndrome, that warrant a doctor’s visit.
  2. Be wary of misleading product claims: Don’t rely on product hype or marketing. Instead, look for reliable, science-backed information, like resources from the National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH) or the Office of Dietary Supplements (ODS), both under the National Institutes of Health.
  3. Dosage is uncertain: Research suggests valerian appears most effective after being taken continuously for two weeks or more. However, the ideal dosage remains unclear due to varying amounts used in studies, and some were not rigorous enough. Most valerian root supplements contain about 300-600mg per serving, though some products may have 1000mg or even higher doses.
  4. Potential side effects: Although generally considered safe, valerian might lead to headaches, dizziness, gastrointestinal issues, or insomnia. It might not be safe if you’re pregnant or nursing. Its safety hasn’t been assessed for children under three. If you have liver disease, avoid valerian as many medications rely on the liver for breakdown, and valerian might slow this process.
  5. Possible drug interactions: Valerian might enhance the effects of other sleep aids. It also amplifies the sedative effects of depressants, such as alcohol, benzodiazepines, and anesthetics. Valerian could interfere with some prescription drugs and might interact with other dietary supplements like St. John’s Wort.
  6. Herbal supplements aren’t regulated by the FDA: You can’t always be sure of what you’re getting or if it’s safe. Supplements containing valerian might be inconsistent and could include other ingredients. Remember, just because something is natural doesn’t necessarily mean it’s safe.
  7. Talk to your doctor: If you’re considering taking valerian, discuss it with your physician first to ensure it doesn’t interfere with any other medications or supplements you’re on and to ascertain its safety given your health or medical conditions.

Top 8 Valerian supplement recommendations

Gaia Herbs Valerian Root

Gaia Herbs offers its Valerian Root supplement to support relaxation, particularly during stressful periods. If you’re seeking a restful night’s sleep, this supplement can help you find peace. Made with high-quality organic valerian root, it aims to ensure you wake up feeling refreshed.

Gaia Herbs Valerian Root - Natural Sleep Support for a Natural Calm to Help Relaxation to Prepare for Sleep - with Organic Valerian Root...
234 Reviews
Also at Gaia Herbs
Gaia Herbs Valerian Root 60 Vegan Liquid Phyto-Capsules

It’s purity-tested, vegan, gluten-free, and proudly made in North Carolina, USA. Since 1987, Gaia Herbs has been dedicated to connecting people, plants, and the planet through a holistic approach to well-being.

Herb Pharm Certified Organic Valerian Root Liquid Extract

Experience a restful night with Herb Pharm’s Certified Organic Valerian Root Liquid Extract, crafted to promote relaxation and deep sleep. This easy-to-absorb formula enhances the herb’s effects while pleasing your senses of taste and smell, deepening your connection to the herb.

Herb Pharm Certified Organic Valerian Root Liquid Extract for Relaxation and Restful Sleep, Organic Cane Alcohol, 4 Ounce
3,469 Reviews
Also at iHerb
Herb Pharm Certified Organic Valerian Root Liquid Extract

Sourced from the fresh rhizome and root of the Certified-Organic Valeriana officinalis plant, its authenticity is validated through thorough HPTLC fingerprinting and expert herb identification. Prioritizing purity, this extract is vegan, non-GMO, and gluten-free.

Herbal Secrets Valerian Root Capsules

Experience the benefits of Herbal Secrets’ Valerian Root supplement, delivering a potent 500mg in each serving. Each bottle holds 120 easy-to-take veggie capsules. Prioritizing quality, this supplement is non-GMO, gluten-free, and has undergone third-party testing. Manufactured in line with GMP standards, it ensures top-notch quality.

Herbal Secrets Valerian Root 500mg 120 Veggie Capsules Supplement | Non-GMO | Gluten Free | Made in USA
908 Reviews
Also at iHerb
Herbal Secrets Valerian Root 500mg 120 Capsules

Proudly made in the USA, Herbal Secrets guarantees the highest purity and potency for their Valerian Root supplement.

Nature’s Answer Alcohol-Free Valerian Root

Nature’s Answer introduces its Alcohol-Free Valerian Root Fluid Extract, sourced from the Valeriana officinalis root. Each serving mirrors the benefits of 1,000 mg of the dried plant. Carefully crafted with alcohol, water, and natural extractants, the product preserves the extract’s holistic balance.

Nature's Answer Alcohol-Free Valerian Root, 2-Fluid Ounces
1,984 Reviews
Also at iHerb
Nature’s Answer Alcohol-Free Valerian Root, 1,000 mg, 2 fl oz

The Bio-Chelated Cold Extraction Process is used to eliminate alcohol and extraction materials, resulting in a super-concentrated formula designed for calmness and relaxation. Using Advanced Botanical Fingerprint Technology for authentication, Nature’s Answer ensures the utmost purity and quality in every bottle.

Nature’s Sunshine Valerian Root

Nature’s Sunshine presents its Valerian Root supplement, fortified with standardized valerenic acids known for their calming effects. Each capsule delivers a potent 410mg of valerian root, appreciated for its non-addictive nature, ensuring users rise without morning drowsiness.

Nature's Sunshine Valerian Root, 100 Capsules | Herbal Supplement Promotes Relaxation, Supports Sleep, and Delivers Natural Nervous System...
149 Reviews
Also at Nature’s Sunshine
Nature’s Sunshine Valerian Root, 100 Capsules

Valerian Root not only helps relax the central nervous system and reduce stress, promoting a restful sleep in adults, but also supports a healthy nervous system, fostering a sense of calm.

NOW Foods Valerian Root

NOW Foods presents a 500 mg vegan Valerian Root capsule, advised to take 2 capsules at bedtime when needed. Its standout qualities include certifications like Non-GMO, Soy Free, Vegan, and more.

NOW Supplements, Valerian Root (Valeriana officinalis) 500 mg, Herbal Supplement, 250 Veg Capsules
Also at iHerb
NOW Foods Valerian Root 500 mg 250 Veg Capsules

With an NPA A-rated GMP certification, the product guarantees top-tier manufacturing processes, from lab tests to final formulation. Made in the USA, NOW Foods has been a reliable, family-run company since 1968.

Swanson Valerian Root

For over 50 years, Swanson has been a trusted provider of science-backed health products. Manufactured in GMP-certified facilities and verified by independent labs, you can trust the quality of every supplement.

Swanson Valerian Root - Herbal Supplement - Relaxation and Sleep - 100 Capsules, 950mg per Serving
Also at iHerb
Swanson Valerian Root Supplement 950 mg / 475 mg

Swanson’s Valerian Root supplement offers a potent 950mg per capsule. If you need a reliable sleep aid, simply take one to two capsules an hour before bedtime.

Nature’s Way Valerian Root

Nature’s Way is dedicated to sourcing botanicals from the best regions, guaranteeing top quality in every product. Their Valerian Root supplement is Non-GMO Project Verified and exemplifies their commitment to quality.

Nature's Way Valerian Root - Traditional Sleep Support* - Valerian Root Capsules - Gluten Free & Vegan - 100 Capsules
1,460 Reviews
Nature’s Way Valerian Root Traditional Sleep Support

This gluten-free, vegan formula is free from salt, yeast, corn, wheat, soy, dairy, and artificial additives. With a deep belief in nature’s blueprint for health, Nature’s Way balances age-old traditions with modern health needs, consistently offering trustworthy products rooted in natural wellness.

Trusted Website U.S. National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health Open the link →

Fan Zhao

A smart and thrifty homemaker who loves baking.

Disclosure: We are an Amazon Associate. Some links on this website are affiliate links, which means we may earn a commission or receive a referral fee when you sign up or make a purchase through those links.

Related Posts

Didn't find what you're looking for?
Please try our powerful search tool!

Comments

Leave a Reply

Stock images sponsored by depositphotos.com