5 款最佳金印草產品,使用方法與副作用

Goldenseal Root

EN ES Fil FR KO VI

金印草 (goldenseal),又稱白毛茛、美國黃根、北美黄莲,學名 Hydrastis canadensis,在北美非常受歡迎。數世紀以來,人們常與紫錐菊一同使用以治療或預防感冒。有人相信金印草具有抗菌特性,有時也用於治療眼部感染、腹瀉、尿路感染、口腔潰瘍、陰道發炎以及其他各種疾病。

金印草之所以受歡迎,其中一個原因是因為有傳聞說服用此草藥可以通過藥物檢驗,得到陰性結果。然而,沒有證據表明它在這方面有效。一些研究報告顯示,服用金印草並不會改變藥物檢驗的結果。

金印草是一種多年生草本植物,體型較小,有一根多毛的莖。它有兩片鋸齒狀的葉子、小花和覆盆子般的果實。使用的部分是根和莖;根味苦,顏色鮮黃或棕褐色,扭曲且皺褶。

金印草原產於北美,可以在肥沃、陰蔽的土壤地區找到。然而,過度採集和棲息地損失減少了野生金印草的供應。目前,這種植物在美國的農場上商業種植,尤其是在藍嶺山區。

Goldenseal
金印草|圖:Eric Hunt

金印草含有一種稱為黃連素 (berberine 、也叫小蘗鹼) 的生物鹼,可以殺滅某些細菌和真菌。關於金印草的研究有限。一些研究表明,黃連素可以緩解急性腹瀉 [1] 可靠來源 PubMed 是美國國家衛生研究院資料庫,是可信賴的健康和醫療資訊來源。 打開連結 → ,但當口服金印草時,其中的黃連素很難被身體吸收或進入血液循環。因此,關於黃連素的研究結果可能不適用於金印草。

金印草的用途

當歐洲移民抵達美洲時,原住民已經廣泛使用金印草作為染料,且用於治療眼部發炎、癌症、皮膚病、潰瘍、發燒和其他疾病。

目前,金印草被推廣為治療感冒和其他呼吸道感染的方法,或用於過敏、鼻竇炎、花粉熱、潰瘍、腹瀉、便秘、消化不良的膳食補充劑,治療牙齦痛的漱口水,眼部疼痛、疲勞、灼熱感、紅腫、炎症、結膜炎的眼藥水,以及治療皮疹、痤瘡和其他皮膚問題。

金印草也被用於替代醫學作為輔助治療尿路感染、痔瘡、胃部不適、結腸炎、鼻塞、月經不規律、慢性疲勞綜合症等疾病。此外,黃連素在中醫傳統中被廣泛用於治療痢疾和傳染性腹瀉。

其他用途:

  • 小傷口:金印草具有防腐特性,因此有時被用於消毒切口和擦傷。
  • 黏膜問題和抗菌效果:當黏膜分泌不足時,它可以增加黏膜分泌物,如增加含有免疫球蛋白 A 的健康黏膜,增強抗菌力量。它還可以減少或停止過多的黏膜分泌物,有助於清除過多的黏液和累積的黏膜炎症。
  • 肺結核:現在有研究表明黃連素可以協助治療肺結核。 [2] 可靠來源 NCBI, 美國國家生物技術資訊中心,是可信賴的生物技術和生物醫學資訊來源。 打開連結 → ,儘管小檗鹼不是肺結核的主要或輔助療法。
  • 控制糖尿病患者的血糖。
  • 抗生素或免疫增強劑:小檗鹼有時被視為天然抗生素,儘管研究並未證明其對人類的有效性。它通常與紫錐菊一起使用,並被宣傳為免疫系統增強劑。此外,已研究其用於治療幽門螺旋桿菌(引起潰瘍的細菌)感染。
  • 收縮劑:它可以收縮身體組織,例如幫助子宮收縮和產後子宮回復。
  • 月經期和產後出血控制:具體而言,它可能能夠減少出血。
  • 治療水腫、白帶、膽囊結石、乳房腫脹和甲狀腺腫大。
  • 治療瘧疾,幫助消化,緩解胃不適。
  • 治療發癢、濕疹、癬、皰疹和口腔潰瘍。
  • 治療肝淤血,肝硬化和慢性腦充血。
  • 擴張血管,有助於治療心臟衰竭。
  • 肌肉刺激劑,促進器官系統更好地運作。
  • 促進食慾,幫助消化,緩解胃不適。
  • 刺激膽汁的產生和分泌。
  • 刺激中樞神經系統。
  • 輕度瀉藥。
  • 全身補品。

儘管金印草具有廣泛的用途,目前沒有科學證據支持使用金印草與任何健康相關的目的,也沒有研究證實其在治療任何疾病方面的有效性。金印草產品尚未獲得美國食品和藥物管理局批准用於任何醫療用途,因此不要將金印草作為替代醫生處方藥物的替代品。

金印草通常作為草本補充劑出售。許多草本化合物缺乏規範的製造標準,一些商業產品被發現受到有毒金屬或其他藥物的污染。建議從可靠的來源購買草藥/膳食補充劑,以減少污染風險。

推薦的五種金印草產品

金印草有片劑和膠囊(含根部粉末)、液體提取物和甘油(低酒精提取物)等形式。口服金印草只含有少量小檗鹼,一些專家認為口服金印草中的小檗鹼吸收不佳。這裡有五種廣受推崇的金印草產品。

1. 健安喜 GNC 金印草根精華

GNC 成立於 1935 年的賓夕法尼亞州,是營養行業中享有盛譽的美國品牌。這款 GNC 金印草根提取膠囊是一種草本補充劑,採用素食標準化提取,有助於增強自然抵抗力。每盒內含 50 粒膠囊,建議每日服用一到兩粒。每粒膠囊含有 200 毫克金印草根提取物和素食纖維。不含糖、人工色素、人工香料、鈉、小麥、麩質、大豆、乳製品和酵母。

* 文章中的所有價格均為撰寫時的價格

注意:本品尚未經美國食品和藥物管理局評估。如果您正在懷孕、哺乳、服用藥物或患有任何健康問題,在使用前請諮詢醫生意見。在手術前至少提前 2 周停止使用。

2. Country Comfort 金印草軟膏

Country Comfort 自 1970 年代中期以來一直生產天然草本軟膏和護唇膏,他們的產品深受喜愛。這款 2 盎司(57 克)的抗菌軟膏結合了金印草和沒藥(一種抗菌劑)的藥用特性,純淨、優質、天然,聲稱能夠快速、有效治療牛皮癬、濕疹、痔瘡、燒傷、感染、割傷、傷口、擦傷和皮膚乾燥等狀況。

成分包括紅花油、甜杏仁油、蜂蠟、金印草根、沒藥膠、維生素 E 、 A 、 D 等。僅限外用,並應放在兒童不能觸及的地方。

3. Nature’s Way 紫錐菊金印草補充劑

Nature’s Way 成立於 1969 年的亞利桑那州,提供高品質的膳食補充劑,並成為首家獲得 NSF 批准的 GMP 認證設施。他們是負責任營養委員會等團體的領導者之一。這款 1.01 液量盎司(30 毫升)的優質紫錐菊-金印草素食膳食補充劑支持免疫系統,並配備方便使用的滴管。使用前請搖勻,成人每日用水服用 3 次,每次 1 毫升。 12 歲以下兒童應服用成人劑量的一半。產品密封安全,開封後需冷藏保存。

成分:99.9%紫錐菊和金印草、甘油、純化水和 0.1%酒精。

不建議孕婦、哺乳期婦女、自體免疫性疾病、胃敏感、炎症、胃潰瘍或十二指腸潰瘍患者使用。對菊科/菊花科植物(包括豚草)過敏的人,應謹慎使用。如果您患有糖尿病或正在服用任何藥物,請諮詢醫生。

4. Horbäach 紫錐菊金印草膠囊

Horbäach 在天然產品行業擁有 40 多年的經驗,是高品質補充劑的可靠來源。他們精心調配和廣泛測試的產品以幾十年的專業知識為支持。這款紫錐菊-金印草膳食補充劑以 300 粒素食膠囊的瓶裝形式提供,具有經實驗室測試的優質成分保證。成人每日用餐時服用 1-2 粒膠囊。

成分:每粒膠囊含有 1400 毫克天然紫錐菊花和金印草根。不含麩質、小麥、酵母、大豆、乳糖、人工色素、人工香料、防腐劑和非轉基因成分。

Sale

不適合孕婦、哺乳期婦女、 18 歲以下或對向日葵或雛菊過敏的人使用。如果您正在服用任何藥物或患有任何健康問題,在使用前諮詢醫生意見。如果出現任何不良反應,請停止使用並諮詢醫生。如封蓋下的密封損壞或遺失,請勿使用。存放在陰涼乾燥、遠離兒童的地方。

5. NOW 紫錐菊金印草根膠囊

NOW 是一個成立了 55 年的知名品牌,他們的產品經 NPA GMP 認證,確保高品質的天然產品。這款紫錐菊 &金印草膳食補充劑采用 1:1 的混合比例,在膠囊封裝前只經過最低限度的根部處理(清潔、乾燥、磨成粉末)。粉末在包裝前以高溫消毒,不使用潛在有害的化學物質或輔料。它有助於支持免疫系統,並獲得 Kosher 認證。每瓶內含 100 粒素食膠囊,建議每日服用 2 粒膠囊。

成分:紫錐菊、金印草、羥丙基甲基纖維素(素食膠囊)和植物來源的硬脂酸。

不建議每月連續使用超過 2 週。僅限成人使用。懷孕、哺乳、正在服用藥物或有任何健康問題(包括與菊科植物過敏有關的免疫相關疾病),請諮詢醫生。產品可能會呈現自然的顏色變化。存放在陰涼乾燥的地方,遠離兒童。

使用注意事項

  • 除非經醫生建議,否則不建議兒童使用金印草,也不要給嬰兒服用金印草。
  • 成人可以口服金印草。它通常與水和其他液體混合,製成各種皮膚清潔劑、漱口水,甚至用作陰道洗劑。您的醫療保健提供者可以幫助您找到合適的類型和劑量。
  • 孕婦或哺乳期婦女不應使用。
  • 高血壓、肝臟疾病或心臟病患者在服用金印草之前應諮詢醫生的意見。
  • 金印草的主要成分黃連素可能會與許多藥物產生相互作用,包括經肝臟代謝的藥物和受細胞蛋白影響的藥物。 如果您正在服用其他藥物,使用金印草製品之前最好諮詢醫生的意見。

與其他藥物的相互作用

使用草本療法促進健康和治療疾病是歷史悠久的方法。然而,草藥含有可能引起副作用並與其他草藥、補充劑或藥物產生相互作用的成分。因此,遵循醫生建議並謹慎使用草本療法非常重要。以下是金印草與某些藥物可能的相互作用:

  • 環孢素 (Cyclosporine):金印草可能增加體內環孢素的水平。環孢素是一種被廣泛用作免疫抑制劑以預防器官移植排斥的鈣神經酶抑制劑。
  • 地高辛 (Digoxin):金印草可能增加血液中地高辛的濃度。地高辛是一種用於治療心臟病的藥物。
  • 四環素 (Tetracycline):金印草中的黃連素可能降低四環素抗生素的作用。
  • 抗凝血劑 (Anticoagulants):金印草可能增加出血風險,特別是與華法林(Coumadin)、氯吡格雷(Plavix)和阿司匹林等抗凝血劑一起使用時。
  • 二甲双胍 (Metformin):由 NCCIH 資助的一項研究發現,金印草提取物與二甲双胍(一種常用的糖尿病藥物)合用會導致體內二甲双胍水平下降 25% 。這種下降可能會妨礙依賴二甲双胍控制血糖的 2 型糖尿病患者。因此,正在服用二甲双胍的 2 型糖尿病患者在使用金印草之前應諮詢醫療保健提供者的意見。

可能受影響的其他藥物包括:

  • 某些化療藥物
  • 某些治療 HIV 的藥物
  • 阿米替林(Amitriptyline)- Elavil 埃拉維爾
  • 西咪替丁(Cimetidine)- Tagamet 泰胃美
  • 西沙必利(Cisapride)- Propulsid
  • 克拉黴素(Clarithromycin)- Biaxin
  • 地爾硫卓(Diltiazem)- Cardizem
  • 多奈哌齊(Donepezil)- Aricept 安理申
  • 紅黴素(Erythromycin)
  • 非索非那定(Fexofenadine)- Allegra
  • 氟西汀(Fluoxetine)- Prozac 百憂解
  • 茚地那韋(Indinavir)- Crixivan
  • 洛哌丁胺(Loperamide)- Imodium 易蒙停
  • 洛伐他汀(Lovastatin)- Mevacor 美維可
  • 美托洛爾(Metoprolol)- Lopressor,Toprol XL
  • 奥氮平(Olanzapine)- Zyprexa 再普樂
  • 雷尼替丁(Ranitidine)- Zantac
  • 西地那非(Sildenafil)- Viagra 偉哥
  • 曲馬多(Tramadol)- Ultram
  • 曲唑酮(Trazodone)- Desyrel
  • 三唑侖(Triazolam)- Halcion

潛在的副作用

使用金印草可能產生以下潛在副作用:

  • 蕁麻疹、呼吸困難、面部、嘴唇、舌頭或喉嚨腫脹。
  • 金印草可能引起皮膚、口腔、喉嚨和陰道刺激。它還可能增加對陽光的敏感性。
  • 金印草可以誘發子宮收縮,因此懷孕的婦女不應使用它。
  • 黃連鹼可能導致或加重新生兒黃疸,並可能導致一種危及生命的疾病,稱為核黃疸。
  • 它可能會改變您體內處理藥物的方式。

除了上述之外,還可能有其他副作用。儘管不是所有的副作用都已知,但單次使用金印草被認為應該是安全的。

常見問題解答

1. 我可以在懷孕或哺乳期間使用金印草嗎?

目前尚不清楚這種草藥是否會對胎兒造成傷害,並且金印草被認為在懷孕期間使用可能不安全。如果您懷孕了,不要在沒有醫生建議的情況下使用該產品。同樣,在哺乳期間使用金印草可能不安全。

2. 嬰兒和兒童可以使用金印草嗎?

不要給嬰兒或兒童服用金印草,因為它可能造成腦部損傷。不要在沒有醫生建議的情況下給嬰兒/兒童使用任何草本療法或補品。

3. 我應該如何使用金印草?

在考慮使用草本補品之前,請咨詢醫生的意見。如果選擇使用金印草,請按照包裝上的說明或根據醫生或藥劑師的指示使用。不要不經醫生建議同時使用不同形式的金印草(提取物、軟膏、茶等)。同時使用不同配方會增加過量的風險。如果您使用金印草後病情沒有改善或惡化,請聯繫您的醫生。

4. 我應該如何儲存金印草產品?

儲存在室溫下,遠離潮濕和熱源。

5. 哪些藥物可能與金印草產生相互作用?

如果您目前正在使用藥物治療以下任何疾病,請勿在沒有醫生建議的情況下使用金印草:

  1. 任何類型的感染(包括 HIV 、瘧疾或結核病);
  2. 焦慮或抑鬱;
  3. 哮喘或過敏;
  4. 癌症;
  5. 陽痿;
  6. 胃食道逆流病(GERD)或胃灼熱;
  7. 高血壓,高膽固醇或心臟病;
  8. 偏頭痛;
  9. 器官移植排斥反應;
  10. 銀屑病,類風濕性關節炎或其他自身免疫性疾病;
  11. 心理障碍;
  12. 癲癇。

其他藥物,包括處方藥和非處方藥、維生素和草藥製品,也可能與金印草產生相互作用。

6. 金印草的安全性如何?

目前關於金印草單獨使用的安全性信息有限。對於大多數成年人來說,短期口服金印草可能是安全的。目前沒有足夠可靠的信息來確定金印草長期使用的安全性。美國國家補充與整合醫學中心(NCCIH)資助的一項研究發現,某些金印草膳食補充劑中的金印草含量低於標籤上所示,並含有未披露的成分。

7. 如果發生過量或緊急情況應該怎麼辦?

立即尋求醫療救助(撥打急救電話)或聯繫毒物諮詢熱線:1-800-222-1222 。

8. 在哪裡可以找到更多關於金印草的信息?

  1. National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health: Goldenseal
  2. Mount Sinai: Goldenseal
  3. University of Rochester Medical Center: Goldenseal
  4. Kaiser Permanente: Goldenseal
Mei Jones

簡單的大媽,喜歡大海,跳舞,網購,遠程工作,看中國古裝劇。

Disclosure: We are an Amazon Associate. Some links on this website are affiliate links, which means we may earn a commission or receive a referral fee when you sign up or make a purchase through those links.

相關文章

未找到你想要的信息?
請嘗試我們強大的搜尋工具!

留言

發表迴響

Stock images sponsored by depositphotos.com

Top 5 Goldenseal Products, Their Uses and Side Effects

ES Fil FR KO VI

Goldenseal, also known as white Indian plant, American yellowroot, or by its scientific name Hydrastis canadensis, is a highly popular herb in the United States. For centuries, it has been used in conjunction with echinacea to treat or prevent colds. It is also believed to have antibacterial properties and is sometimes used to treat eye infections, diarrhea, urinary tract infections, mouth ulcers, vaginal inflammation, and various other ailments.

One reason why goldenseal is popular is because of rumors that taking this herb can help you pass a drug test by yielding a negative result. However, there is no evidence to suggest that it is effective in doing so. Some research reports indicate that taking goldenseal does not alter the results of drug tests.

Goldenseal is a perennial herbaceous plant that grows small in size, with a single hairy stem. It has two serrated lobed leaves, small flowers, and raspberry-like fruits. The roots and stems are the parts used; the roots are bitter-tasting, bright yellow or brown in color, twisted, and wrinkled.

Goldenseal is native to North America and can be found in fertile, shaded areas of the soil. However, excessive harvesting and loss of habitat have reduced the supply of wild goldenseal. Currently, this plant is commercially cultivated on farms in the United States, especially in the Blue Ridge Mountains.

Goldenseal
Photo by Eric Hunt
Goldenseal

Goldenseal contains an alkaloid called berberine, which can kill certain bacteria and fungi. There is limited research on goldenseal. Some studies suggest that berberine can alleviate acute diarrhea [1] Trusted Website PubMed is a data base from US National Institutes of Health. It’s a trusted source of health and medical information. Open the link → , but when goldenseal is taken orally, it is difficult for the berberine in it to be absorbed by the body or enter the bloodstream. Therefore, the research findings on berberine may not be applicable to goldenseal.

Uses of goldenseal

When European settlers arrived in America, Native Americans had already been using goldenseal extensively as a dye, for treating eye inflammation, cancer, skin diseases, ulcers, fever, and other ailments.

Currently, goldenseal is promoted as a treatment for colds and other respiratory infections, or as a dietary supplement for allergies, sinusitis, hay fever, ulcers, diarrhea, constipation, indigestion, mouthwash for treating gum soreness, eye wash for eye soreness, fatigue, burning, redness, inflammation, pink eye, or for treating rashes, acne, and other skin problems.

Goldenseal is also used in alternative medicine as an adjunct treatment for urinary tract infections, hemorrhoids, stomach discomfort, colitis, nasal congestion, irregular menstruation, chronic fatigue syndrome, and other ailments. Additionally, berberine is widely used in Traditional Chinese Medicine (TCM) to treat dysentery and infectious diarrhea.

Other potential uses:

  • Minor wounds: Goldenseal appears to have antiseptic properties, so it is sometimes used to disinfect cuts and abrasions.
  • Mucous membrane issues and antimicrobial effects: It can increase mucous membrane secretions when they are insufficient, such as increasing the production of immunoglobulin A-containing healthy mucus to enhance antimicrobial power. It can also reduce/stop excessive mucous membrane secretions, helping to clear excess mucus and accumulated mucosal inflammation.
  • Tuberculosis: There are now studies suggesting that berberine can assist in the treatment of tuberculosis [2] Trusted Website NCBI, US National Center for Biotechnology Information, is a trusted source of biotechnology and biomedicine information. Open the link → , although berberine is not used as the primary or adjunct therapy for tuberculosis.
  • Blood sugar control in diabetic patients.
  • Antibiotic or immune booster: Berberine is sometimes considered a natural antibiotic, although research has not demonstrated its effectiveness in humans. It is often used in combination with echinacea and promoted as an immune system enhancer. Furthermore, it has been studied for its use in treating Helicobacter pylori (bacteria that cause ulcers) infections.
  • Astringent: It can contract body tissues, such as aiding in uterine contraction and postpartum uterine involution.
  • Menstrual period and postpartum bleeding control. Specifically, it may be able to reduce bleeding.
  • Treating edema, leukorrhea, gallstones, breast swelling, and thyroid enlargement.
  • Treating malaria and aiding digestion, relieving stomach discomfort.
  • Treating itching, eczema, ringworm, herpes blisters, and cold sores.
  • Treating liver congestion, cirrhosis, and chronic cerebral congestion.
  • Dilating blood vessels and aiding in the treatment of heart failure.
  • Muscle stimulant, promoting better functioning of organ systems.
  • Stimulating appetite, aiding digestion, relieving stomach discomfort.
  • Stimulating bile production and secretion.
  • Stimulating the central nervous system.
  • Mild laxative.
  • Overall body tonic.

While goldenseal has a wide range of uses, currently there is no scientific evidence supporting the use of goldenseal for any health-related purposes, nor have studies confirmed its effectiveness in treating any diseases. Goldenseal products have not been approved by the FDA for any medicinal use, so do not use goldenseal as a substitute for medications prescribed by your doctor.

Goldenseal is commonly sold as an herbal supplement. Many herbal compounds lack regulated manufacturing standards, and some commercial supplements have been found to be contaminated with toxic metals or other drugs. It is recommended to purchase herbs/dietary supplements from reliable sources to reduce the risk of contamination.

Goldenseal is available in tablet and capsule (containing root powder), liquid extracts, and glycerin (low-alcohol extracts) forms. Oral goldenseal contains only a small amount of berberine, and some experts believe that berberine in goldenseal is poorly absorbed when taken orally. Here are 5 well-regarded goldenseal products.

1. GNC Goldenseal Root Extract

GNC, established in 1935 in Pennsylvania, is a reputable American brand in the nutrition industry. This GNC Goldenseal Root Extract capsule is a herbal supplement with vegetarian standardization extract, which helps support natural resistance. It comes in a 50-capsule pack, with a recommended dosage of one to two capsules per day. Each capsule contains 200mg of goldenseal root extract and vegetarian fiber. It is free of sugar, artificial colors, artificial flavors, sodium, wheat, gluten, soy, dairy, and yeast.

* All prices in the article are as of the time of writing

Note: Dietary supplements have not been evaluated by the FDA. Consult your doctor before use if you are pregnant, nursing, taking medication, or have any health conditions. Discontinue use at least 2 weeks prior to surgery.

2. Country Comfort Goldenseal Ointment

Country Comfort has been producing natural herbal salves and lip balms since the mid-1970s, and their products are well-loved. This 2 oz (57g) jar of antiseptic ointment combines the medicinal properties of goldenseal and myrrh (an antiseptic) and is claimed to effectively treat conditions such as psoriasis, eczema, hemorrhoids, burns, infections, cuts, wounds, scrapes, and dry skin. It is pure, natural, and fast-acting, making it a great natural ointment to have at home.

Ingredients include oil of safflower, sweet almond oil, beeswax, goldenseal root, myrrh gum, vitamin E, A, D, and others. For external use only, and should be kept out of reach of children.

3. Nature’s Way Echinacea-Goldenseal

Nature’s Way, established in 1969 in Arizona, provides high-quality dietary supplements and is the first GMP-certified facility to be approved by NSF. They are leaders in responsible nutrition, among other organizations. This premium blend of echinacea and goldenseal vegetarian dietary supplement supports the immune system and comes in a 1.01 fl oz (30 mL) bottle. Shake well before use, and adults take 1 mL three times daily with water. Children under 12 should take half the adult dose. Easy-to-use dropper included. Product is safety-sealed and refrigeration is required after opening.

Ingredients: 99.9% echinacea and goldenseal, glycerin, purified water, and 0.1% alcohol.

Not recommended for pregnant or nursing women, those with gastric irritation, inflammation, gastric or duodenal ulcers. Individuals with autoimmune conditions are advised against use. Caution is advised for individuals allergic to plants in the Asteraceae/Compositae family (including ragweed). Consult a healthcare professional if you have diabetes or are taking any medications.

4. Horbäach Echinacea & Goldenseal

With over 40 years of experience in the natural products industry, Horbäach is a trusted source of high-quality supplements. Their carefully formulated and extensively tested products are backed by decades of expertise. This echinacea-goldenseal dietary supplement comes in a bottle of 300 vegetarian capsules, with laboratory-tested, superior-quality ingredients guaranteed. Adults take 1-2 capsules daily with meals.

Ingredients: Each capsule contains 1,400 mg of natural echinacea flower and goldenseal root. Free of gluten, wheat, yeast, soy, lactose, artificial colors, artificial flavors, preservatives, and non-GMO ingredients.

Not suitable for pregnant women, nursing mothers, individuals under 18 years of age, or those allergic to sunflowers or daisies. Consult your doctor before use if you are taking any medications or have any health conditions. Discontinue use and consult a doctor if any adverse reactions occur. Do not use if the seal under the cap is damaged or missing. Store in a cool, dry place out of the reach of children.

5. NOW Echinacea & Goldenseal Root

NOW is a well-established brand with a 55-year history, and their products are certified by NPA GMP, ensuring high-quality natural products. This echinacea & goldenseal dietary supplement features a 1:1 blend, with minimal processing of the roots (cleaning, drying, and grinding into a fine powder) before encapsulation. The powder is sterilized at high temperatures prior to packaging, without the use of potentially harmful chemicals or excipients. It supports the immune system and is Kosher-certified. Each bottle contains 100 vegetarian capsules, with a recommended dosage of 2 capsules daily.

Ingredients: Echinacea, goldenseal, hydroxypropyl methylcellulose (vegetarian capsule), and plant-source stearic acid.

Not recommended for continuous use for more than 2 weeks per month. For adults only. Consult a doctor if pregnant, nursing, taking medications, or have any health conditions (including immune-related conditions and allergies to plants in the Asteraceae family). Product may exhibit natural color variations. Store in a cool, dry place out of the reach of children.

Usage precautions

  • Unless advised by your doctor, it is not recommended for children to use goldenseal, and do not feed goldenseal to infants.
  • For adult use, goldenseal can be taken orally. It is often mixed with water and other liquids to create various skin cleansers, mouthwashes, and even used as a vaginal douche. Your healthcare provider can help you find the appropriate type and dosage.
  • Pregnant or nursing women should not use it.
  • Individuals with high blood pressure, liver disease, or heart conditions should consult a physician before taking goldenseal.
  • The main constituent of goldenseal, berberine, may interact with many medications, including drugs metabolized by the liver and those influenced by cellular proteins. If you are taking other medications, it is advisable to consult a doctor before using goldenseal products.

Interactions with other drugs

Using herbal remedies is a long-standing method for promoting health and treating ailments. However, herbs contain components that can potentially cause side effects and interact with other herbs, supplements, or medications. For these reasons, it is important to follow medical advice and use herbal remedies with caution. Here are some potential interactions of goldenseal with certain medications:

  • Cyclosporine: Goldenseal may increase the levels of cyclosporine in the body. Cyclosporine is a calcineurin inhibitor widely used as an immunosuppressant to prevent organ transplant rejection.
  • Digoxin: Goldenseal may increase the concentration of digoxin in the blood. Digoxin is a medication used to treat heart conditions.
  • Tetracycline: Berberine in goldenseal may reduce the effectiveness of tetracycline antibiotics.
  • Anticoagulants: Goldenseal may increase the risk of bleeding, especially if taken with anticoagulants like warfarin (Coumadin), clopidogrel (Plavix), and aspirin.
  • Metformin: A study funded by NCCIH found that the use of goldenseal extract alongside metformin (a commonly used medication for diabetes) resulted in a 25% decrease in metformin levels in the body. This decrease could potentially hinder blood sugar control in individuals with type 2 diabetes who rely on metformin. Therefore, individuals with type 2 diabetes who are taking metformin should consult their healthcare provider before using goldenseal.

Other medications that may be affected include:

  • Some chemotherapy drugs
  • Some medications for treating HIV
  • Amitriptyline (Elavil)
  • Cimetidine (Tagamet)
  • Cisapride (Propulsid)
  • Clarithromycin (Biaxin)
  • Diltiazem (Cardizem)
  • Donepezil (Aricept)
  • Erythromycin
  • Fexofenadine (Allegra)
  • Fluoxetine (Prozac)
  • Indinavir (Crixivan)
  • Loperamide (Imodium)
  • Lovastatin (Mevacor)
  • Metoprolol (Lopressor, Toprol XL)
  • Olanzapine (Zyprexa)
  • Ranitidine (Zantac)
  • Sildenafil (Viagra)
  • Tramadol (Ultram)
  • Trazodone (Desyrel)
  • Triazolam (Halcion)

Potential side effects

The following are potential side effects of using goldenseal:

  • Hives, difficulty breathing, swelling of the face, lips, tongue, or throat.
  • Goldenseal can cause irritation to the skin, mouth, throat, and vagina. It may also increase sensitivity to sunlight.
  • It can induce uterine contractions, so it should not be used by pregnant women.
  • Berberine can cause or worsen neonatal jaundice and may lead to a life-threatening condition called kernicterus.
  • It may alter how your body processes medications.

In addition to the above, there may be other side effects. While not all side effects are known, single-dose use of goldenseal is considered potentially safe.

FAQs

1. Can I use goldenseal during pregnancy or while breastfeeding?

It is currently unclear whether this herb may harm unborn babies, and goldenseal is considered potentially unsafe for use during pregnancy. If you are pregnant, do not use this product without medical advice. It is also potentially unsafe to use goldenseal while breastfeeding.

2. Can infants and children use it?

Do not give goldenseal to infants or children as it may cause brain damage. Do not administer any herbal remedies or supplements to infants/children without medical advice.

3. How should I take goldenseal?

Seek medical advice before considering the use of herbal supplements. If choosing to use goldenseal, follow the instructions on the packaging or as directed by your doctor or pharmacist. Do not simultaneously use different forms of goldenseal (extracts, tinctures, teas, etc.) without medical advice. Using different formulations simultaneously increases the risk of overdosing. If your condition does not improve with goldenseal use or worsens while using the product, contact your doctor.

4. How should I store goldenseal products?

Store at room temperature, away from moisture and heat.

5. Which medications can interact with goldenseal?

If you are currently using medications to treat any of the following conditions, do not take goldenseal without medical advice:

  1. Any type of infection (including HIV, malaria, or tuberculosis);
  2. Anxiety or depression;
  3. Asthma or allergies;
  4. Cancer;
  5. Erectile dysfunction;
  6. Gastroesophageal reflux disease (GERD) or heartburn;
  7. Hypertension, high cholesterol, or heart disease;
  8. Migraines;
  9. Organ transplant rejection reaction;
  10. Psoriasis, rheumatoid arthritis, or other autoimmune diseases;
  11. Mental disorders;
  12. Epilepsy.

Other medications, including prescription and non-prescription drugs, vitamins, and herbal products, may also interact with goldenseal.

6. How safe is goldenseal?

There is limited information available about the safety of goldenseal when used alone. Short-term oral use of goldenseal is likely safe for most adults. There is insufficient reliable information to determine the long-term safety of goldenseal use. A study funded by the National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH) found that certain goldenseal dietary supplements contained less goldenseal than stated on the labels and contained undisclosed ingredients.

7. What should I do in case of an overdose or emergency?

Seek immediate medical attention (call emergency services) or contact the Poison Help hotline at 1-800-222-1222.

8. Where can I find more information about goldenseal?

  1. National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health: Goldenseal
  2. Mount Sinai: Goldenseal
  3. University of Rochester Medical Center: Goldenseal
  4. Kaiser Permanente: Goldenseal
Mei Jones

A simple east coaster, a big fan of the ocean's salty waves, busting moves on the floor, swiping deals through online shops, clocking in hours from afar, and binge-watching favorite dramas.

Disclosure: We are an Amazon Associate. Some links on this website are affiliate links, which means we may earn a commission or receive a referral fee when you sign up or make a purchase through those links.

Related Posts

Didn't find what you're looking for?
Please try our powerful search tool!

Comments

Leave a Reply

Stock images sponsored by depositphotos.com