能過濾掉 PFAS 的家用濾水器推薦

https://www.rawpixel.com/image/12004825/photo-image-shadow-wood-table

EN ES Fil FR KO VI

全氟烷基物質(PFAS)作為一類常見的化學物質,廣泛用於各種產品中,包括衣物、家具、食品包裝等。根據美國地質調查局 2023 年 8 月發布的研究,美國近一半的自來水受到這種「永久化學品」污染。因此,尋找一款能去除 PFAS 的高效濾水器已成為人們迫切的需求。

PFAS 是什麼?

全氟烷基物質(PFAS)是一大類化學物質,有超過 12,000 種不同類型,用於製造防火聚合物塗層和耐熱、耐油、防污、防油脂和防水的產品。全氟聚合物塗層可以應用於各種產品中,包括服裝、家具、粘合劑、食品包裝、耐熱的不粘炊具表面以及電線絕緣層。許多 PFAS,包括全氟辛烷磺酸(PFOS)和全氟辛酸(PFOA),引起了科學家和民眾的關注,因為它們具有以下特點:

  • 在環境中不分解;
  • 可以通過土壤傳播並污染飲用水源;
  • 在魚類和野生動物體內積累(生物富集)。

PFAS 在環境中持久存在,在河流、湖泊和許多陸地和水中的動物體內都可以找到 PFAS 。人們通過飲用含有 PFAS 的水或食物接觸到 PFAS 。使用含有 PFAS 的產品也可能導致暴露,例如參與 PFAS 生產的工業工人以及居住在這些工廠附近的人。

PFAS 對人體的影響

暴露於低環境水平的 PFAS 對人體健康的影響尚不確定。動物實驗研究表明,給予大量 PFAS 的實驗動物可能影響生長和發育。此外,這些動物研究還表明 PFAS 可能影響生殖、甲狀腺功能、免疫系統並損傷肝臟。目前已經有一些流行病學研究評估,但還需要更多的研究來評估 PFAS 暴露對人體健康的影響。

在 2022 年 6 月,美國環保局發布了健康警示,指出這些化學物質對人類健康的危害比科學家最初預想的要大得多,即使在比之前認為的水平低得幾千倍的情況下,它們也可能更加危險。

目前已經有一些流行病學研究評估,由於人們可能以不同的方式接觸到 PFAS,並且在不同的發育階段可能產生不同的影響,而且隨著時間推移,PFAS 化學物質的種類和用途也在不斷變化,因此還需要更多的研究來評估 PFAS 暴露對人體健康的影響。

美國人群中的 PFAS 水平

美國大多數人都接觸過一些 PFAS 。自 1999 年以來,CDC 在血清中檢測出至少 12 種 PFAS 。血清是從參與國家健康和營養調查(NHANES)的 12 歲及以上參與者處獲得的。 CDC 發現幾乎測試者的血清中都含有四種 PFAS(PFOS,PFOA,PFHxS,以及 PFNA)。這表明美國人群普遍暴露於這些 PFAS 。

通過在血清中測量 PFAS,科學家可以估計人體內 PFAS 的含量。雖然在血清中發現可測量的 PFAS 量並不意味著這些 PFAS 水平會引起不良健康影響,但可為醫生和公共衛生官員提供參考值,也有助於科學家規劃和開展關於暴露和健康影響的研究。

另外,《環境國際期刊》的發表顯示,科學家們在 2016 年至 2021 年間,從 716 個地點的自來水龍頭採樣中發現,至少有 45% 的美國飲用水樣品中檢測到一種 PFAS 化學物質。污染主要來自靠近城市地區的水源,以及產生 PFAS 的地區,例如在產品中使用這些化學物質的製造業或收集廢物的場所。

图:美国地质调查局

在上圖中,三角形為私人井水,圓形為公共用水;藍色為檢測到 PFAS, 灰色為未檢測到 PFAS 。研究顯示,美國飲用水中 PFAS 的濃度最高的地區是大平原地區、五大湖地區、東海岸和加利福尼亞州中南部。

能夠去除 PFAS 的濾水裝置

如果您對健康有顧慮,您可以採取措施來減少 PFAS 的潛在暴露。兩種濾水器已被證明對從水源中去 除 PFAS:活性炭過濾器反滲透膜過濾器。所有水處理設備都需要定期維護才能正常工作,未經適當維護的水處理設備會隨著時間的推移失去效力。

其他常見的水處理系統,如軟水器或鐵過濾系統,不太可能去除 PFAS 。煮沸水也不能去除 PFAS 。雖然許多家庭都配備了整個房屋的軟水或鐵過濾系統,但取樣數據表明這些系統不能去除 PFAS 。

為減少飲用水中的 PFAS,可以選擇「點對點(在一個水龍頭或某個位置處安裝濾水器)」和「點對全(整屋系統濾水器)」。點對點處理方式往往比整屋系統更經濟便宜。

研究人員於 2020 年 2 月在《環境科學與技術快報》上發表了在居民環境中檢測點對點過濾器對 PFAS 的去除效率的結果。

主要結果包括:

  • 反滲透過濾器和兩級過濾器將 PFAS 降低了 94%或更多,包括 GenX 這種新型的 PFAS 物質。
  • 活性炭過濾器平均去除了 73%的 PFAS 污染物,但結果差異很大。在某些情況下,化學物質完全被去除,而在其他情況下不減反增。在測試的六個系統中,有四個系統在過濾後 PFSA 和 PFCA 水平實際上增加了。因為這些系統會去除城市水處理中使用的消毒劑,它們還會使家庭管道容易受到細菌滋生的影響。

ZeroWater 濾水壺

ZeroWater 是一家專門生產水過濾產品的公司,創立於 2003 年,總部位於賓夕法尼亞州的特雷沃斯,核心技術為專有的 5 級過濾系統,可去除 99.6% 以上的總溶解固體:

  • 第一級:頂部過濾層,去除較大的顆粒物和懸浮固體;
  • 第二級:泡沫層,去除較小的懸浮固體,並且讓水均勻分布、以最大限度地接觸過濾介質;
  • 第三級:活性炭和氧化還原,去除有機污染物,如 PFOA/PFOS 、氯、汞,並減少細菌生長;
  • 第四級:雙層離子交換樹脂,去除鉛和其他重金屬、以及非金屬等無機化合物;
  • 第五級:超細篩網和微米級過濾,去除微小的懸浮固體殘留物。

ZeroWater 的幾款水壺式過濾器和飲水機過濾器通過了美國國家衛生基金會(NSF)的測試。結果表明,其過濾器對 PFOA 和 PFOS 的總體去除效率為 94.9% 。處理過的水中 PFOA/PFOS 的最大濃度為 70 ppt 。

ZeroWater 40 杯 READY-POUR™ 5 級玻璃濾水器
4.4

* All prices are as of the time of writing

ZeroWater 10 杯 READY-POUR™ 5 級濾水壺
4.4

Berkey 旅行版濾水器

Berkey Filters 採用三種不同工藝的組合來過濾水,包括離子交換和活性炭過濾器,來減少飲用水中的 PFAS 。黑色 Berkey 濾芯由六種不同類型的介質組成,具有微小的孔隙,使污染物難以通過。除此之外,濾芯還利用吸附作用將更多污染物阻擋在外。離子交換可將重金屬吸附在濾紙上,從而阻擋更多污染物。最後,過濾系統的重力流功能會使這一過程緩慢進行,從而使污染物更難通過,但又能快速幫助您獲得所需的過濾水。

根據美國環保署(EPA)認可的實驗室所做的測試,Berkey Filters 可去除或減少水中高達 99.9% 的 PFAS,包括 PFOA 和 PFOS,以及其他類型的 PFAS 。

如果你在旅行過程中想享受到純淨過濾水帶來的便利與健康,Travel Berkey®️ 濾水器將是你的首選。這款濾水器是 Berkey 家族裡的最小型號,其設計考慮到了便攜性,適合在旅行和應對突發緊急情況下使用,平時在家中常備使用當然也沒有問題。

Travel Berkey®️ 濾水器可以 100% 離網工作,無需電力或水壓。濾水系統配備兩個黑色 Berkey®️ 濾芯和一個過濾器啟動套件,濾水器的容量約為 1.5 加侖。兩個濾芯可提供多達 6,000 加侖的過濾水,可供一家三口 8 年飲水量。另外,還有 2.25 加侖更大容量的 Big Berkey 重力供水濾水器。

Travel Berkey 重力供水濾水器 1.5 加侖
帶 2 個 Black Berkey 濾芯
可用於居家、露營、房車等
$327.00 at Amazon

32 Reviews

Travel Berkey 重力供水濾水器 2.25 加侖
帶 2 個 Black Berkey 濾芯
$384.00 at Amazon

Epic Pure 淨水壺

Epic Pure 淨水壺是一種先進的水處理技術,它使用活性炭塊過濾器,已經獨立測試證明可以有效去除飲用水中的 PFAS 等污染物。活性炭塊由於具有高孔隙率,表面積極大,使得吸附污染物更為有效。事實上,與顆粒活性炭過濾器相比,活性炭塊的污染物去除效果更佳。因此,如果你正在尋找去除 PFAS 的淨水器,Epic Pure 淨水壺是你最好的選擇。

經 EWG.org 研究證實,Epic Pure 水壺具有卓越的能力,可去除自來水中高達 98% 的 PFAS,是當今水淨化領域的理想選擇。 Epic Pure 濾芯是可更換的,並且都經過了最高行業標準的測試。這款水壺的濾芯在減少污染物方面超過了 NSF/ANSI 標準 42 、 53 、 401 和 P473 。每個濾芯可以淨化 150 加侖水,使 Epic Pure 淨水壺成為經濟實惠的選擇,既能節省開支,又能保護地球免受一次性塑料水瓶的污染。

每個淨水壺包括一個濾芯,平均使用壽命約為三至四個月,具體還需根據你的日常用水量和市政自來水的質量而定。如果你的自來水污染嚴重,濾芯將更加努力地保持水質清潔,這可能會縮短濾芯的使用壽命。水壺蓋子上集成了一個 LED 定時器,從 90 天開始倒計時,提醒你何時需要更換濾芯。

淨水壺下半部的儲水槽可以容納約半加侖未經過濾的水,這讓你可以根據注水的頻率來判斷濾芯的使用壽命,避免濾芯使用過期。

852 Reviews

Epic Pure 淨水壺 10 杯容量
$69.00 at Amazon

558 Reviews

Epic Pure 台面淨水壺分配器 36 杯容量
$75.00 at Amazon

Clearly Filtered 淨水壺

Clearly Filtered 淨水壺是市場上功能最強大的淨水器,採用 Clearly Filtered 專利開發的 Affinity® 過濾技術,能有效地從水中去除超過 365 種不同的污染物,甚至超越了 NSF/ANSI 設定的標準。

該技術採用獨特的雙重技術方法,結合了兩種不同的過濾方法:顆粒活性炭 (GAC) 由 7 種不同過濾材料組成的專利混合物。

顆粒活性炭 (GAC) 在去除某些有機化合物以及改善味道和氣味方面效果顯著。 GAC 是一種具有大表面積的多孔碳,用於從水中捕獲和吸附化學物質和雜質。

由 7 種不同過濾材料組成的專有混合物,構成了 Affinity® 過濾介質,通過聯合作用去除各種污染物。這些材料是因其能夠針對特定類型的污染物而被選擇的,包括重金屬、氟化物,甚至難以去除的化學物質如 PFAS 。

通過結合這些技術,Clearly Filtered 的 Affinity® 過濾技術可以有效地在分子級別過濾出污染物,而且保留了水中有益的礦物質。

Clearly Filtered 10 杯容量淨水壺的壺身採用醫用級 Tritan 材料,100% 不含 BPA/BPS 。濾芯的平均過濾壽命為 100 加侖(平均每 4 個月更換一次)。目前,Clearly Filtered 10 杯容量淨水壺在 Clearly Filtered 官網和亞馬遜旗艦店都缺貨。

Clearly Filtered 10 杯容量淨水壺採用 Affinity® 過濾介質三步過濾法:

  • 第一步:編織網格屏。水首先通過一個編織的不鏽鋼網格屏,這將阻止較大的污染顆粒進入。
  • 第二步:顆粒狀椰子活性炭。接下來,水通過鬆散的顆粒狀椰子活性炭過濾層,該層主要針對氯、不良味道和氣味進行過濾。
  • 第三步:複合殼。水然後流過濾器的複合殼,該殼由 7 種以上的專有過濾材料製成。這層密集的材料減慢了水的流速,使濾芯有更多的時間與水接觸。專有技術的結合和額外的接觸時間,使得濾器能夠對所有類型的污染物提供優越的防護。

Clearly Filtered 淨水壺
4.2
$90 at Clearly Filtered(缺貨)

另一種更省心,也是我更推薦的去除 PFAS 的方法是安裝水槽下淨水器。 Clearly Filtered 水槽下淨水器系統安裝簡單,無需水管工、水箱或額外購買水龍頭。

Clearly Filtered 水槽下淨水器系統針對 232+種污染物的處理能力,這超過了大多數反滲透(RO)系統。它的設計可與任何水槽兼容,直接連接到冷水管。安裝過程簡單直接,可以在 15 分鐘內完成。與典型的反滲透系統不同,這種系統最大限度地減少浪費,效率比典型的反滲透系統高 75%,極少產生廢水。過濾器的使用壽命為 2,000 加侖,大多數用戶一年只需更換一次過濾器。

每個系統都包括三個可更換的過濾器,這些過濾器採用了先進的 Affinity 過濾技術。三個濾芯各司其職,三步淨化:

  • 第一步:原水過濾器。精細的椰殼活性炭預過濾器能最大化減少沉澱物和各種微米大小的顆粒,為第二步和第三步的過濾做好準備。在此階段提取出的有害物質會影響水的顏色、氣味和口感,因此你可以看到、聞到,並體驗到過濾後的不同。
  • 第二步:重金屬+有機揮發物過濾器。這個先進的過濾器被設計用來消除隱藏的金屬、除草劑、農藥等,專門針對那些大多數過濾器無法清除的隱秘化學物質和污染物,包括鉛、輻射、鉻和 PFAS 。
  • 第三步:內置氟化物過濾器。這個過濾器內部的突破性技術專門針對高水平的氟化物,而不依賴於常規的反滲透技術,後者盲目地過濾有益礦物質並產生過量的廢水。

Clearly Filtered 3 級水槽下淨水器系統
4.9

Fan Zhao

熱愛烘培、節儉省錢的聰明家庭主婦。

Disclosure: We are an Amazon Associate. Some links on this website are affiliate links, which means we may earn a commission or receive a referral fee when you sign up or make a purchase through those links.

相關文章

未找到你想要的信息?
請嘗試我們強大的搜尋工具!

留言

發表迴響

Stock images sponsored by depositphotos.com

Top 4 Home Water Filters That Can Filter Out PFAS

ES Fil FR KO VI

Perfluoroalkyl substances (PFAS) are a common class of chemicals widely used in various products, including clothing, furniture, and food packaging. According to a new study published in August, 2023 by the US Geological Survey, nearly half of the tap water in the US is contaminated with this “permanent chemical.” Therefore, finding an efficient water filter that can remove PFAS has become an urgent need for people.

What is PFAS?

Perfluoroalkyl substances (PFAS) are a large class of chemicals with over 12,000 different types, used to manufacture fire-resistant polymer coatings and products that are heat-resistant, oil-resistant, stain-resistant, grease-resistant, and waterproof. Fluoropolymer coatings can be applied to various products, including clothing, furniture, adhesives, food packaging, heat-resistant non-stick cookware surfaces, and wire insulation. Many PFAS, including perfluorooctanesulfonic acid (PFOS) and perfluorooctanoic acid (PFOA), have attracted the attention of scientists and the public because they:

  • Do not degrade in the environment;
  • Can spread through soil and contaminate drinking water sources;
  • Accumulate in fish and wildlife (bioaccumulation).

PFAS persist in the environment and can be found in rivers, lakes, and many terrestrial and aquatic animals. People come into contact with PFAS through drinking water or food containing PFAS. Using products containing PFAS can also lead to exposure, such as industrial workers involved in PFAS production and people living near these factories.

Impact of PFAS in the human body

The health effects of exposure to low environmental levels of PFAS are uncertain. Animal studies have shown that experimental animals given large amounts of PFAS may affect growth and development. In addition, these animal studies also indicate that PFAS may affect reproduction, thyroid function, the immune system, and damage the liver. Some epidemiological studies have been conducted, but more research is needed to assess the impact of PFAS exposure on human health.

In June 2022, the US Environmental Protection Agency issued a health alert stating that these chemicals are more harmful to human health than scientists originally thought, and they may be even more dangerous even at levels thousands of times lower than previously thought.

More research is still needed to assess the impact of PFAS exposure on human health, as people may be exposed to PFAS in different ways, and different developmental stages may have different effects. Over time, the types and uses of PFAS chemicals are constantly changing.

PFAS levels in the US population

Most Americans have been exposed to some PFAS. Since 1999, the CDC has detected at least 12 PFAS in blood serum. Blood serum is obtained from participants aged 12 and over participating in the National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES). The CDC found that the blood serum of almost all testers contained four PFAS (PFOS, PFOA, PFHxS, and PFNA). This indicates that the US population is generally exposed to these PFAS.

By measuring PFAS in serum, scientists can estimate the amount of PFAS in the human body. Although the detection of measurable amounts of PFAS in serum does not mean that these PFAS levels will cause adverse health effects, it can provide reference values for doctors and public health officials and help scientists plan and conduct research on exposure and health effects.

In a study published in August, 2023, scientists from U.S. Geological Survey found at least one PFAS chemical in 45% of US drinking water samples from 716 locations from 2016 to 2021. The pollution mainly comes from water sources near urban areas and areas where PFAS is produced, such as industries that use these chemicals in products or waste collection sites.

Image: U.S. Geological Survey

In the image above, the triangles are private well water and the circles are public water; blue indicates PFAS detected and gray means no PFAS detected. Research shows that the areas with the highest concentrations of PFAS in drinking water in the United States are the Great Plains region, the Great Lakes region, the East Coast, and south-central California.

Water filtration devices that can remove PFAS

If you are concerned about health, you can take measures to reduce potential exposure to PFAS. Two filters have been proven to remove PFAS from water sources: activated carbon filters or reverse osmosis membrane filters. All water treatment equipment needs regular maintenance to work properly, and untreated water treatment equipment will lose its effectiveness over time.

Other common water treatment systems, such as water softeners or iron filtration systems, are unlikely to remove PFAS. Boiling water also cannot remove PFAS. Although many households are equipped with whole-house soft water or iron filtration systems, sampling data shows that these systems cannot remove PFAS.

To reduce PFAS in drinking water, you can choose “point-of-use (installing a filter at a faucet or a certain location)” and “point-of-entry (whole house system filter)”. Point-to-point treatment is often more economical than whole-house systems.

Researchers published the results of point-to-point filter removal efficiency for PFAS in residential environments in the Environmental Science & Technology Letters in February 2020. The main results include:

  • Reverse osmosis filters and two-stage filters reduced PFAS by 94% or more, including new types of PFAS substances such as GenX.
  • Activated carbon filters removed an average of 73% of PFAS pollutants, but the results varied greatly. In some cases, the chemicals were completely removed, while in other cases they increased. Of the six systems tested, four systems actually increased PFSA and PFCA levels after filtration. Because these systems remove disinfectants used in urban water treatment, they also make household pipes susceptible to bacterial growth.

ZeroWater Filter Pitcher

ZeroWater is a company that specializes in water filtration products, founded in 2003, headquartered in Trevose, Pennsylvania, with a core technology of a proprietary 5-stage filtration system, which can remove more than 99.6% of total dissolved solids:

  • First stage: Coarse filter screen, which removes suspended solids such as dust and rust.
  • Second stage: Foam distributor, which removes additional suspended solids.
  • Third stage: Multi-layer activated carbon and oxidation reduction alloy, which removes organic contaminants; pesticides, herbicides, mercury, chlorine, chloramine, and stops bacteria from growing.
  • Fourth stage: Dual comprehensive ion exchange resin, which removes inorganic compounds, i.e., metals, non-metals, and radiological contaminants.
  • Fifth stage: Ultra-fine screen and non-woven membrane layers, which remove fine particles.

ZeroWater’s Filter Pitcher and water dispenser have been tested by the National Sanitation Foundation (NSF). The results show that their filters have an overall removal efficiency of 94.9% for PFOA and PFOS. The maximum concentration of PFOA/PFOS in treated water was 70 ppt.

40 CUP READY-POUR™ GLASS 5-STAGE WATER FILTER DISPENSER
4.4

* All prices are as of the time of writing

10 CUP READY-POUR™ 5-STAGE WATER FILTER PITCHER
4.4

Travel Berkey Gravity-Fed Water Filter

Berkey Filters uses a combination of three different processes to filter water, including ion exchange and activated carbon filters, to reduce PFAS in drinking water. Berkey Filter cartridges are made up of six different types of media with tiny pores that make it difficult for contaminants to pass through. In addition to this, the cartridges utilize adsorption to keep more contaminants out. Ion exchange adsorbs heavy metals onto the filter paper, thus blocking more contaminants. Finally, the gravity flow feature of the filtration system slows the process down, making it harder for contaminants to pass through, yet quickly helping you get the filtered water you need.

Berkey Filters can remove or reduce up to 99.9% of PFAS in water, including PFOA and PFOS, as well as other types of PFAS, according to tests done by an EPA-accredited laboratory.

If you want to enjoy the convenience and health benefits of pure, filtered water while traveling, the Travel Berkey ®️ Water Filter is for you. The smallest model in the Berkey family, this water filter is designed with portability in mind, making it ideal for travel and emergencies, as well as for regular use at home.

The Travel Berkey ®️ water filter works 100% off-grid and requires no electricity or water pressure. The water filtration system comes with two black Berkey®️ cartridges and a filter starter kit, and the water filter has a capacity of approximately 1.5 gallons. The two cartridges provide up to 6,000 gallons of filtered water, which is enough water for a family of three to drink for eight years. Also available is the Big Berkey Gravity Water Supply Water Filter with a larger capacity of 2.25 gallons.

Travel Berkey Gravity-Fed Water Filter 1.5 Gal
with 2 Black Berkey Elements
Camping, RVing, Off-Grid, Emergencies, Every Day at Home
$327.00 at Amazon

39 Reviews

Travel Berkey Gravity-Fed Water Filter 2.25 Gal
with 2 Black Berkey Elements
$367.00 at Amazon

Epic Pure Water Pitcher

The Epic Pure Water Pitcher is an advanced water treatment technology that uses an activated carbon blocks, which has been independently tested and proven to effectively remove contaminants such as PFAS from drinking water. Due to its high porosity and large surface area, the activated carbon block is particularly effective in adsorbing pollutants. In fact, the pollutant removal efficiency of the activated carbon block is superior compared to granular activated carbon filters. Therefore, if you are looking for a water purifier to remove PFAS, the Epic Pure Water Pitcher is your best choice.

EWG.org has confirmed that the Epic Pure pitcher has an exceptional ability to remove up to 98% of PFAS from tap water, making it an ideal choice in today’s water purification field. The Epic Pure filter cartridge is replaceable and has been tested to the highest industry standards. This pitcher’s filter surpasses the NSF/ANSI standards 42, 53, 401, and P473 in terms of reducing pollutants. Each filter can purify 150 gallons of water, making the Epic Pure Water Pitcher an economical choice that not only saves money but also protects the earth from the pollution of disposable plastic water bottles.

Each pitcher comes with a filter cartridge, which has an average lifespan of about three to four months. The exact duration depends on your daily water usage and the quality of your municipal tap water. If your tap water is heavily polluted, the filter will work harder to keep the water clean, which might reduce the lifespan of the filter. The pitcher lid integrates an LED timer that counts down from 90 days, reminding you when it’s time to replace the filter.

The storage tank in the lower half of the pitcher can hold about half a gallon of unfiltered water, allowing you to gauge the lifespan of the filter based on the frequency of refilling, ensuring you don’t use the filter beyond its effective period.

879 Reviews

Epic Nano 10 Cup
$69.00 at Amazon

600 Reviews

Epic Nano Countertop Water Filter Dispenser
$75.00 at Amazon

Clearly Filtered

Clearly Filtered is one of the most powerful water filter on the market, utilizing Clearly Filtered’s patented Affinity® filtration technology, which effectively removes more than 365 different contaminants from the water, exceeding even the standards set by NSF/ANSI.

The technology utilizes a unique dual-technology approach that combines two different filtration methods: Granular Activated Carbon (GAC) and a proprietary blend of seven different filtration materials.

Granular Activated Carbon (GAC) is effective in removing certain organic compounds as well as improving taste and odor; GAC is a porous carbon with a large surface area that traps and adsorbs chemicals and impurities from water.

A proprietary blend of seven different filter materials make up Affinity® filter media, which works in combination to remove a wide range of contaminants. These materials were chosen for their ability to target specific types of contaminants, including heavy metals, fluoride, and even hard-to-remove chemicals such as PFAS.

By combining these technologies, Clearly Filtered’s Affinity® Filtration Technology effectively filters out contaminants at the molecular level, while retaining the beneficial minerals in the water.

The body of the Clearly Filtered 10-cup capacity water filter is made of medical-grade Tritan and is 100% BPA/BPS free. The average filter life of the cartridge is 100 gallons (average replacement every 4 months). The Clearly Filtered 10-Cup Capacity Water Filter Jug is currently out of stock on both the Clearly Filtered website and the Amazon flagship store.

The Clearly Filtered 10-Cup Capacity Water Purifier features a three-step filtration method using Affinity Filtration Technology:

  • Stage 1: Woven Mesh Screen. Water first passes through a woven stainless steel mesh screen, which blocks larger contaminant particles from entering.
  • Stage 2: Granular Coconut Carbon. Next, the water passes through a loose layer of granular coconut activated carbon filtration, which focuses on chlorine, bad tastes and odors.
  • Stage 3: Composite Shell. Water then flows through the filter’s composite shell, which is made of more than seven proprietary filter materials. This dense layer of materials slows down the flow of water, allowing the cartridge to spend more time in contact with the water. The combination of proprietary technologies and extra contact time allows the filter to provide superior protection against all types of contaminants.

Water Pitcher with Affinity Filtration Technology
4.2
$90 at Clearly Filtered (OOS)

A less stressful and more recommended method of removing PFAS is to install an under-sink water filter. The Clearly Filtered Under-Sink Water Filter System is easy to install and does not require a plumber, tank, or the purchase of an additional faucet.

The Clearly Filtered Under Sink Water Filter System has the capacity to treat 232+ contaminants, which is better than most reverse osmosis (RO) systems. It is designed to be compatible with any sink and connects directly to the cold water line. The installation process is simple and straightforward and can be completed in less than 15 minutes. Unlike typical reverse osmosis systems, this system minimizes waste, is 75% more efficient and produces very little wastewater. The filters have a life expectancy of 2,000 gallons and most users only need to change the filters once a year.

Each system includes three replaceable filters that utilize advanced Affinity filtration technology. Each of the three filter cartridges does its job and purifies in three stages:

  • Stage 1: Advanced Priming Filter. A fine coconut shell activated carbon pre-filter maximizes the reduction of sediment and various micron-sized particles in preparation for the second and third steps of filtration. Harmful substances extracted at this stage affect the color, odor, and taste of the water, so you can see, smell, and experience the difference after filtration.
  • Stage 2: Heavy Metal + Organic Volatiles Filter. Designed to eliminate hidden metals, herbicides, pesticides, and more, this advanced filter specifically targets those hidden chemicals and contaminants that most filters can’t remove, including lead, radiation, chromium, and PFAS.
  • Stage 3: Built-in Fluoride Filter. The breakthrough technology inside this filter specifically targets high levels of fluoride without relying on conventional reverse osmosis technology, which blindly filters out beneficial minerals and produces excessive wastewater.

3-Stage Under the Sink Water Filter System
4.9

Fan Zhao

A smart and thrifty homemaker who loves baking.

Disclosure: We are an Amazon Associate. Some links on this website are affiliate links, which means we may earn a commission or receive a referral fee when you sign up or make a purchase through those links.

Related Posts

Didn't find what you're looking for?
Please try our powerful search tool!

Comments

Leave a Reply

Stock images sponsored by depositphotos.com